Optical Trapping Applications, OSA Topical Meeting, Vancouver 2015

Location: Pinnacle Vancouver Harbourfront Hotel, Vancouver, Canada
12-15 April 2015

Website: OSA-OTA 2015

Optical Trapping Applications encompasses all areas of particle manipulation and measurement, from optical manipulation to acoustic trapping, emphasizing new and developing application areas.

This meeting covers the whole range of topical particle manipulation technologies currently being developed for studies in biophysics, single molecule, single cell and tissue level analysis, lab-on-a-chip development, optomechanical cooling, environmental monitoring and theoretical underpinnings. Technologies to be considered include optical tweezers and associated techniques, but will try and capture synergies between different trapping and manipulation modalities such as acoustic trapping and electrical trapping with a view to encouraging discussion between different user groups and the development of new hybrid techniques.

Plenary Session

  • Eric Betzig, Nobel Prize Winner in Chemistry 2014, Janelia Research Campus, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, USA
  • Tayyaba Hasan, Harvard Medical School, Massachusetts General Hospital, USA
  • W.E. Moerner, Nobel Prize Winner in Chemistry 2014, Stanford University, USA


1. Optical Manipulation Fundamentals and Technologies

  • Holographic optical tweezers and beam shaping, adaptive optics techniques
  • Particle dynamics
  • Opto-mechanical cooling
  • Cell stretching
  • Microrheology
  • High force optical tweezers
  • Photophoresis
  • Optical trap modelling and theoretical underpinnings
  • Nanoparticle manipulation
  • Plasmonic manipulation
  • Integrated and near-field optical trapping

2. Optical Manipulation Applications

  • Single molecule biophysics
  • Cellular mechanics and mechanotransduction
  • Cellular adhesion
  • Non-equilibrium statistical mechanics
  • Nanoscale & quantum sensing
  • Environmental sensing and aerosol analysis
  • Laser cellular surgery and photoporation
  • Optofluidics/microfluidics
  • Integration with spectroscopic techniques

3. Alternative Particle Manipulation Techniques

  • Magnetic tweezers
  • Electrical manipulation: Electrodynamic balance, dielectrophoresis etc
  • Acoustic manipulation and trapping
  • Microfluidic manipulation
  • Optoelectronic Tweezers
  • AFM applied to techniques studied by optical manipulation


  • Eric Betzig,Janelia Research Campus, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, USA
  • Tayyaba Hasan,Harvard Medical School, Massachusetts General Hospital, USA
  • W.E. Moerner,Stanford Univ., USA
  • Gabriella Cipparrone,Universita della Calabria,Italy
  • Elisabet Codina,Impetux,Spain
  • David Collins,Singapore Uni of Tech. and Design,Singapore
  • Cornelia Denz,Westfaelische Wilhelms Univ Munster,Germany
  • Alper Kiraz,Koç University,Turkey
  • Keir Neuman,National Institutes of Health,United States
  • Timo Nieminen,School of Mathematics and Physics,Australia
  • Giuseppe Pesce,Univ degli Studi di Napoli Federico II,Italy
  • David Phillips,University of Glasgow,United Kingdom
  • Arnd Pralle,State University College at Buffalo SUNY
  • Stephen Simpson,Institute of Scientific Instruments ASCR,Czech Republic
  • Giorgio Volpe,University College London,United Kingdom
  • Michael Woodside,University of Alberta,Canada


General Chairs
Steven Neale, Univ. of Glasgow, UK
Peter Reece, Univ. of New South Wales, Australia
Program Chairs
Reuven Gordon, Univ. of Victoria, Canada
Lene Oddershede, The Niels Bohr Institute, Denmark

Program Committee
Tomas Cizmar, Univ. of Dundee, UK
Andrew Forbes, CSIR National Laser Centre, South Africa
Nancy Forde, Simon Fraser Univ., Canada
Simon Hanna, Univ. of Bristol, UK
Brooke Hester, Appalachian State Univ., USA
Tony Jun Huang, Pennsylvania State Univ., USA
Carlos Lopez-Mariscal, US Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Onofrio Marago, CNR-IPCF, Italy
David McGloin, Univ. of Dundee, UK
Jack Ng, Hong Kong Baptist Univ., Hong Kong
Peter Pauzauskie, Univ. of Washington, USA
Ruben Ramos-Garcia, Inst. Nat Astrofisica Optica Electronica, Mexico
Giulia Rusciano, Univ. degli Studi di Napoli Federico II, Italy
Giovanni Volpe, Bilkent Univ., Turkey
Pavel Zemanek, Institute of Scientific Instruments ASCR, Czech Republic